The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World

The definitive account of the Viking World by one of Britain’s best historians

The Empire Stops Here: A Journey along the Frontiers of the Roman World

A magnificent, groundbreaking mixture of travel and history, about the full extent ...

John Williams

Bookmark and Share
John Williams

John Williams was born on August 29, 1922 in Clarksville, Texas. He served in the United States Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945 in China, Burma and India. The Swallow Press published his first novel, Nothing But the Night, in 1948, as well as his first book of poems, The Broken Landscape, in 1949. Macmillan published Williams' second novel, Butcher's Crossing, in 1960.
After recieving his B.A. and M.A. from the University of Denver, and his Ph.D from the University of Missouri, Williams returned in 1954 to the University of Denver where he taught literature and the craft of writing for thirty years. In 1963 Williams received a fellowship to study at Oxford University where where he received a Rockefeller grant enabling him to travel and research in Italy for his last novel, Augustus, published in 1972. John Williams died in Arkansas on March 4, 1994.

Books by John Williams

Books: 3
  • 1
Augustus: A Novel

'Williams has fashioned an always engaging, psychologically convincing work of fiction ...

Stoner: A Novel

Have you read the novel everyone is talking about about? Stoner: the 2013 surprise ...

Butcher's Crossing

The author of Stoner delivers something completely different but equally unique, ...

Books: 3
  • 1