The Outcast

The Outcast

by Sadie Jones

'In the tradition of Atonement and Remains of the Day...The Outcast is a passionate ...

The Uninvited Guests

The Uninvited Guests

by Sadie Jones

The prizewinning and No 1 bestselling author Sadie Jones moves to a gorgeous and ...

Charles Dickens

Bookmark and Share
Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens was born in Hampshire on February 7, 1812. His father was a clerk in the navy pay office, who was well paid but often ended up in financial troubles. When Dickens was twelve years old he was send to work in a shoe polish factory because his family had be taken to the debtors' prison.Fagin is named after a boy Dickens disliked at the factory. His career as a writer of fiction started in 1833 when his short stories and essays began to appear in periodicals. The Pickwick Papers, his first commercial success, was published in 1836. In the same year he married the daughter of his friend George Hogarth, Catherine Hogarth. The serialisation of Oliver Twist began in 1837 while The Pickwick Papers was still running. Many other novels followed and The Old Curiosity Shop brought Dickens international fame and he became a celebrity America as well as Britain. He separated from his wife in 1858. Charles Dickens died on 9 June 1870, leaving his last novel, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, unfinished. He is buried in Westminster Abbey.


Books by Charles Dickens

Books: 18
A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol

by Charles Dickens

Marley's ghostly face on the knocker of Scrooge's door still gives me the shivers ...

The Pickwick Papers

The Pickwick Papers

by Charles Dickens

'His greatest success' George Orwell

The Mystery Of Edwin Drood

The Mystery Of Edwin Drood

by Charles Dickens

'Dickens's hypnotic storytelling and fantastic characterisation... even in its incomplete ...

Hard Times

Hard Times

by Charles Dickens

'It is proof of Dickens' genius (or maybe just the unchanging nature of Britain) ...

A Tale of Two Cities

A Tale of Two Cities

by Charles Dickens

'It was the best of times, it was the worst of times...'

Little Dorrit

Little Dorrit

by Charles Dickens

'Thirty years ago there stood...in the borough of Southwark ... the Marshalsea Prison ...

Bleak House

Bleak House

by Charles Dickens

'Perhaps Bleak House is his best novel. . . . When Dickens wrote Bleak House he had ...

David Copperfield

David Copperfield

by Charles Dickens

'The most perfect of all the Dickens novels' Virginia Woolf

Great Expectations

Great Expectations

by Charles Dickens

'In the little world in which children have their existence, whosever brings them ...

Oliver Twist

Oliver Twist

by Charles Dickens

A special edition of Oliver Twist for the bicentenary year - new cover to be winner ...

Books: 18